The Thirteenth Question with Author Heidi Angell

Today, I’m very happy to welcome Heidi Angell to these Adventures in Indie Publishing. Heidi is the author of The Hunters Series, The Clear Angel Chronicles, and The Hell School Series. She also created Royal Prince Vince, and Creative Exercises to Inspire. When she’s not reading and writing, she can be found spending quality time with her lovely family as they camp, hike, swim, and watch movies.

Heidi’s been kind enough to sit down for an interview with me as part of her blog tour for the release of The Hunted, the highly anticipated sequel to The Hunters Saga.

The Hunted Book Launch Blog Tour at Heidi Angell's website!

Hi Heidi! Thanks for joining me here at the Adventures in Indie Publishing! I was really excited to hear about your upcoming release of The Hunted, and I’m so glad you could find the time to talk with us.

Heidi Angell, Author

Heidi Angell, Author

Where are you from?

Originally? I was born in Montana, and even though I have spent more of my life out of the state than in, it will always feel like home.

Please tell us a little about yourself, your education, and your family life.

I am a bibliophile, lexicomaniac (Yes, that’s a real word, because I’m a writer and allowed to make up words!) and a wordsmith. My husband and I are both proud of our college degrees because they did not come easily. We have two amazing teen boys and life is getting interesting in our house. All that testosterone.

Do you have a secret hunch about how you will die?

My husband has a long-running joke that my obituary will read “Heidi Angell died tragically when one of her bookshelves collapsed burying her in books. She was not found for nearly a week.”  We always thought it was funny until we had to move three times in the last four years because of relocating for my husband’s job and trying to find the right place. Even after downsizing quite a bit, we had more boxes of books than all our other worldly possessions combined… and moving that many books is sure to be the death of me. That, or moving our piano, lol!

If you knew that in one year you would die suddenly, would you change anything about the way you are now living? Why?

Wow, that’s a deep question. I am actually making changes because a family member is battling cancer. I realized that I spend a lot of my time on trivial things like marketing and social media. I want to be a prolific author and at this rate, I will need to live 100 years to do that. (I really don’t want to.) My New Year’s resolution is to write more, read more, and spend more time with family. Happy to say as many people are giving up on their resolutions, mine are going strong!

Complete this sentence: “I wish I had someone with whom I could share…”

…my writing business. I keep trying to loop my husband and my brother in, but it takes a real passion to manage this kind of business. I’ve got the writing part down, and the marketing ideas. I need someone with a more analytical mind to manage the numbers for sales and marketing/ advertising impact.

So please, tell us more about your new release, The Hunted. When can we expect it to be available?

The second book in my Hunters Saga releases this weekend! We are having a huge party from Friday through Sunday on Facebook and I hope everyone will Join The Hunted for fun, goodies, and giveaways! Releases February 18th.

What inspired you to write The Hunted?

The Hunters Saga is a call back to the time when people believed vampires should be killed, not kissed. It is gritty, gory, violent, and has an awesome cast of kickass heroes. It may or may not have been inspired because of a certain series which shall remain nameless, but which has caused a lot of young men to feel like they are not as good as a dead guy. Please!

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here is one of my favorite scenes from The Hunted:

The Hunted Final Cover, by Heidi Angell

The Hunted, by Heidi Angell

“What are they doing?” Avie whispered“Meditating,” Fury muttered, that hint of mirth in her tone.

“Why?”

“To teach Screvin control.”

He heard the girl suck in a surprised breath. Good. He liked the idea of her being afraid of him. Better than her knowing he was scared of her. Even though he had no reason to be, ugh. She was just a child, no more than 17 or 18. She was smaller and weaker. He shouldn’t be afraid. The fear from that night when she was a giant black wolf tearing into his arm welled up inside him. The pain echoed in the healed scars of his shoulder and he tried to force the tension out of his body. He was losing any semblance of focus!

“Dammit, Fury,” he growled, giving up.

Fury smirked at him. “Hungry?” She waved to the rabbit she had spinning on a spit.

“How am I supposed to get good at this when you insist on creating a distraction just as I get into it?”

“The purpose of meditation is not to follow your soul when it is calm,” Havoc admonished. “It is to calm your soul when you are most distracted.”

—from Heidi Angell’s The Hunted, book two in The Hunters Saga.

It is currently available 1/2 price for preorder (only $2.99!) through Friday. Grab your copy from the online retailer of your choice today!

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

My writing is a lot like Shrek. Layers, lots of layers. I have a lot of messages that I hope my readers get, but they won’t get all of them the first time they read. They will just get the ones that they need.

What book are you reading now?

I am reading Joshua Robertson’s Melkorka Series. Loving it HARDCORE. I am such a fan-girl. Lol. But seriously, if you enjoy Dark Fantasy, you should check it out. Or subscribe to my bookish blog and you will see the review! I send weekly emails of awesome bookish news such as author interviews, book reviews, character spotlights, and cool book events coming up.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write, write, and write some more. Listen to critiques, but don’t let that stop you from writing. So many come into this business thinking that they will be rich, but writing is a long-term game. It’s about more than the money. If you are only in it for the money, quit now because you will hate writing before you are done. But if you are in it for the love of words, than write, write, and write some more!

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I hope you enjoy my stories. Let me know by posting a review. I read EVERY. Single. One. I use them to guide my direction in writing. Oh, and come join my awesome bookish community. Mostly I talk about other author’s books, but every now and again you will get to influence my writing. Whether that be voting on my next project, giving your two cents on my next book cover, or telling me what you think of my sneak peeks! Also, everyone who subscribes to the blog this month is getting the first book in The Hunters Saga, The Hunters, absolutely free, to celebrate the launch of the second book. So, come join us!

How can we follow your career? (links to blog, twitter, facebook, amazon author, and other pages)

I spend a lot of time on social media. Rather than give you all those overwhelming number of links, readers can just come on over to my website’s connect page and pick the social media platform they prefer to follow me on.

Brilliant! Thanks again for joining me today, Heidi! Best of luck with the release of The Hunted and I look forward to celebrating with you at The Hunted book release party on Facebook this coming weekend, February 17-19th, 2017!

Editor’s Note: Not only will I be celebrating with Heidi this weekend, but I’ll be taking over her event from 7-8pm Mountain Standard Time on Saturday February 18th. So come out and join us both for lots of bookish fun! I look forward to seeing you there! — Michael

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

About

Michael Dellert is an award-winning writer, editor, publishing consultant, and writing coach with a publishing career spanning 18 years. He is currently working as an independent freelancer. He lives in the Greater New York City area.

Posted in Author Spotlight

Come join us! Click to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,902 other followers

Join the Adventures

Sign up here to join the mailing list and become part of my Adventures in Indie Publishing.

Get a window into a working writer's workshop, Join the Adventures.

The Author
Michael Dellert is an award-winning writer, editor, publishing consultant, and writing coach with a publishing career spanning 18 years. He is currently working as an independent freelancer. He lives in the Greater New York City area.
The Matter of Manred Saga: Available from Amazon

Available from Amazon

Autographs for Kindle!

Get your e-book signed by Michael Dellert

Twitter Love
Currently Reading
Archives
