Write Where You’re From

One of the most exciting things I’ve done recently was to collaborate with Will Hughes, a voice-over artist from Carrsboro, North Carolina.

It’s always great fun to collaborate with another artist to explore one’s own creation in new ways. The other artist always and already brings experiences and interpretations to the work that one might not have considered oneself. For example, in his “few thoughts” on A Merchant’s Tale, Will says:

WillHughesphotoFor me, this story is subtly laced with encouragements to return to boyhood—not an idyllic fantasy of childhood but the visceral curiosity of being a boy.

Although I hadn’t been conscious of it as I wrote, I can look back on A Merchant’s Tale in light of this insight and see how my original ideas for the story were formed and shaped by my own boyhood curiosity. How the exploration of the land of Droma is a rekindling of the explorations of my youth.

I grew up in a very rural part of northwestern New Jersey, a place where we took our nickname, “The Garden State,” seriously: dairy and corn farms are still a major industry in a town I affectionately refer to as “The Land that Time Forgot.”

But more than that, my hometown lies astride the Appalachian Trail, 2,200 miles (3,500 km) of scenic hiking trail through forest and wild lands, towns, roads and farms through the eastern Appalachian Mountains of the United States. The scenic beauty where I grew up is a natural wonder all on its own, and getting out to satisfy the “visceral curiousity of being a boy” played a major role in my development as a writer and has inspired much of my fiction.

So many scenes in my books Hedge King in Winter and A Merchant’s Tale have been drawn from my own experiences in the outdoors, and to this day, hiking remains one of my favorite pastime activities. Scenes like:

black-bear1each owe something to the people and places that surrounded me in my childhood. And “The Hounds of Annwn,” from A Merchant’s Tale, owes its origin to not one, not two, but THREE close encounters with the New Jersey black bear so common in the area where I grew up. Encounters sometimes so close, I could have easily ended up wounded or dead, had the bears been so inclined. To write the scene was to relive, in a very visceral way, the natural fear, shock, surprise, and joy of such an encounter, an attempt to capture the beauty and thrill of seeing such a magnificent creature at such close range.

And to hear Will Hughes bring that scene to life with his voice was, for me, a magical moment all its own. The smell of the bear at that range, the look in its eyes, and the danger of being in such proximity to a creature both gentle and potentially fatal are captured so perfectly by Will’s narration that even though I wrote the scene, even though I lived the scene, it still made the hairs on my neck stand up, just as if it was happening all over again for the first time.

Many thanks to Will Hughes for helping me to bring all those awe-inspiring, spine-tingling, and gut-wrenching memories of childhood alive for you. And many thanks to all of the many artists, writers, and readers who have already read and enjoyed my work, and who work with me everyday to bring that work out into the wide world.

Listen to the excerpt of “Hounds of Annwn” from A Merchant’s Tale!

—33—

If you enjoy this content, please sign up for the mailing list:

[mc4wp_form]

You’ll receive access to free eBook content, daily writing prompts, and a monthly newsletter from the studio of a working writer and professional publisher.

 

About

Michael Dellert is an award-winning writer, editor, publishing consultant, and writing coach with a publishing career spanning 18 years. He is currently working as an independent freelancer. He lives in the Greater New York City area.

Posted in Creativity, Fiction, Hedge King in Winter, Setting, Writing craft, Writing Life

Come join us! Click to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,917 other followers

Join the Adventures

Sign up here to join the mailing list and become part of my Adventures in Indie Publishing.

Get a window into a working writer's workshop, Join the Adventures.

The Author
Michael Dellert is an award-winning writer, editor, publishing consultant, and writing coach with a publishing career spanning 18 years. He is currently working as an independent freelancer. He lives in the Greater New York City area.
The Matter of Manred Saga: Available from Amazon

Available from Amazon

Autographs for Kindle!

Get your e-book signed by Michael Dellert

Twitter Love
Currently Reading
Archives
