Summer? Young Readers? Book Warriors to the Rescue

Book Wars blog banner

Book Wars: unadulterated fangirling of children’s books, authors, and bookstores.

I have to say, I love reading the Book Wars blog. As a father of two still young girls, with their phones and their iPads and their games and their TV shows, it’s always a challenge to find ways to encourage them to read. As a writer and a once and future English major, it’s also a moral imperative to promote reading. And as a literature snob? Well, as they say in Brooklyn, “fuhgeddaboutit.”

The schools try to do their part, but let’s face it, without a parent who values reading, most kids will slide into the easy access world of slip-shod, on-demand entertainment that passes for culture here in the USA.

child reading book outside

Paradise City: where the grass is green, the girls are pretty, and the books keep coming.

So I look forward to my daughters’ summer reading assignments the way most kids look forward to Christmas. Three books by August? Oh. Hell no. They’ll read five or six, if I have anything to say about it. But what to read?

That’s where the good ladies at Book Wars come to the rescue. If it were up to me, I’d be assigning Joyce’s Ulysses and Mary Shelley’s The Last Man. Summer reading for a newly-minted 11 year old girl? How about Mrs. Dalloway? Cue the cries of “Oh, Dad! That’s boooorrrring!

Yeah. What do I know, right? I only have a Master’s in English.

But ok, fine. Maybe my expectations are a little too high. So I turned to Nafiza and the other fine ladies at Book Wars, and they turned me (and my daughters) on to Artemis Fowl, bad boy millionaire genius. And who wouldn’t enjoy that?

So thanks to the Book Warriors for helping me navigate the summer reading assignments without turning my girls against me. If you’re facing the same problem now that summer is in full-swing, I highly recommend checking out Book Wars.

On Artemis Fowl: Because Reluctant Readers Like Heists Right?

 

About

Michael Dellert is an award-winning writer, editor, publishing consultant, and writing coach with a publishing career spanning 18 years. He is currently working as an independent freelancer. He lives in the Greater New York City area.

Posted in Blogging, Book Review, Writings ramblings and related thoughts

What do you think?

Come join us! Click to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,931 other followers

Join the Adventures

Sign up here to join the mailing list and become part of my Adventures in Indie Publishing.

Get a window into a working writer's workshop, Join the Adventures.

The Author
Michael Dellert is an award-winning writer, editor, publishing consultant, and writing coach with a publishing career spanning 18 years. He is currently working as an independent freelancer. He lives in the Greater New York City area.
The Matter of Manred Saga: Available from Amazon

Available from Amazon

Autographs for Kindle!

Get your e-book signed by Michael Dellert

Twitter Love
Currently Reading
Archives
Recent Posts
